Talk to our local expert directly


Myanmar Visa, eVisa, and Visa on Arrival guide and update

Posted By : Threeland Travel / Visa, Flight To Vietnam & Indochina

Amongst usual Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam sojourn that most travelers go on, Myanmar is now a rising star in Southeast Asia for those who love stunning pagodas, diverse local cultures, and rustic thrilling sceneries. In this article, Threeland Travel will cover exactly how to get a tourist visa for Myanmar with a new important update of Myanmar Visa On Arrival.


1.    How to Get a Tourist Visa

Opt 1 (Old fashioned way): Visiting a Burmese embassy or mailing your passport, visa application, and money order to an embassy for processing.
Opt 2 (Visa on arrival): A visa on arrival was obtainable a few years ago, but for now, the Burmese government seemed to have taken this away except for a few nationalities. You are allowed to enter and get a visa on arrival and travel freely within the country if you are from Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Thailand, or Vietnam.

Good news for Italian, Spanish, Australian, Swiss, German and Russian Tourists: Starting from 1st October 2019, with ordinary passport, they are able to get a Myanmar visa on arrival at Yangon International Airport, Mandalay International Airport and Nay Pyi Taw International Airport for one year. Therefore, if you are planning Myanmar tours 2019-2020 and you are Italian, Spanish, Australian, Swiss, German or Russian, check out the required terms and conditions for visa on arrival below:

•    A valid ordinary passport not expiring for at least 6 months from the date you enter into Myanmar
•    Two recent (4 cm x 6 cm) color photos taken within the past six months
•    Email address, detailed information about your accommodation in Myanmar.
•    Visa, Master, or JCB credit card for the payment
•    It is able to obtain the application form either from the airlines in Myanmar or the website of the Ministry of Immigration and Population
•    Each person will be charged USD 50 and is allowed to stay for a maximum of 30 days.
•    Tourist Visa will be granted to tourists who are in Myanmar for the sole purpose of visiting.
•    Tourists are not allowed to extend their visa.
•    Additionally, tourists are required to abide by the decision of the On Arrival Visa Scrutiny and Issuing Team


Opt 3 (E-visa):  Currently, passengers with eVisa are only permitted to enter via following ports:

•    Yangon International Airport
•    Mandalay International Airport
•    Nay Pyi Taw International Airport
•    Tachileik Land Border Checkpoint
•    Myawaddy Land Border Checkpoint
•    Kawthaung Land Border Checkpoint
•    Tamu Land Border Checkpoint
•    Rih Khaw Dar Land Border Checkpoint

Bear in mind that DON’T apply for eVisa too early due to the validity of the eVisa approval letter is 90 days from the issued date. If it is expired, your entry will be denied. The Myanmar visa allows you 28 days of  travel inside Myanmar after the date of entry, plus the chance to extend for another 14 at a cost of US$3 per day (plus a one-off $3 administration fee), giving you a total of 42 days. Travelers from Brunei, Laos, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, and the Philippines can enter into Myanmar visa exempt for up to 14 days.

2.    Procedures to apply a Myanmar eVisa:

•    Completed visa application form (obtainable at
•    Completed work history form (the form is also on
•    A copy of your flight itinerary or a letter from your tour operator
•    Money order or cashier's check (no cash or personal checks)
•    Your passport (valid for at least 6 months after entry)
•    One prepaid, self-addressed FedEx, UPS, or USPS return envelope (postage and tracking are your responsibility)
•    Two recent, color photographs of your face taken against a white background. Photos must be standard size (4cmx6cm). No photocopied photographs.

It takes about 3 working days to process your application. After processing, you'll receive a visa approval letter that needs to be printed to present an immigration officer upon arrival. Make sure that your information is entered correctly and that your photo meets the specification due to the visa application fee is non-refundable. 

The applicant should complete individual personal data whether passenger is FIT or GIT.
To the duration of visa validity, you can only use single entry. Do not allow to enter again.

List of countries are granted Myanmar eVisa:

1. Albania 
2. Algeria 
3. Argentina 
4. Australia 
5. Austria 
6. Bangladesh 
7. Belarus 
8. Belgium 
9. Bhutan 
10. Bolivia 
11. Bosnia 
12. Brazil 
13. Brunei 
14. Bulgaria 
15. Cambodia 
16. Cameroon 
17. Canada 
18. Chile 
19. China 
20. Colombia 
21. Costa Rica  
22. Côte d’Ivoire  
23. Croatia 
24. Cyprus 
25. CZECH    
26. Denmark 
27. Ecuador 
28. Egypt 
29. Eritrea 
30. Estonia 
31. Fiji 
32. Finland 
33. France 
34. Georgia 
35. Germany 
36. Ghana 
37. Greece 
38. Guatemala 
39. Guinea 
40. Hungary 
41. Iceland 
42. India 
43. Indonesia 
44. Ireland 
45. Israel 
46. Italy 
47. Jamaica 
48. Japan 
49. Jordan 
50. Kazakhstan     
51. Kenya 
52. Korea (DPR) 
53. Korea (Republic) 
54. Kuwait 
55. Kyrgyzstan 
56. Laos 
57. Latvia 
58. Lithuania 
59. Luxembourg 
60. Malaysia 
61. Maldives 
62. Malta 
63. Mauritius 
64. Mexico 
65. Monaco 
66. Mongolia 
67. Morocco 
68. Nepal 
69. Netherland 
70. New Zeland 
71. Norway 
72. Pakistan 
73. Panama 
74. Peru 
75. Philippines    
76. Poland 
77. Portugal 
78. Qatar 
79. Romania 
80. Russia 
81. Saudi Arabia 
82. Serbia 
83. Singapore 
84. Slovakia 
85. Slovenia 
86. South Africa 
87. Spain 
88. Sri Lanka 
89. Sweden 
90. Switzerland 
91. Thailand 
92. Turkey 
93. Uganda 
94. Ukraine 
95. United Kingdom 
96. United States of America 
97. Uruguay 
98. Uzbekistan 
99. Venezuela 
100. Vietnam

Notice: All the information in this article is updated in June 2019. Please contact Threeland’s travel consultants for our support and accurate updates on Myanmar tourist visa.